POST 128: Flat Iron Gallery, Juncoes, cords of wood, polarity therapy, painting, poetry, South Carolina, Maine

by Carol Bass

BLEAK TUNDRA LOVE

Four corners of the house
are cold-cracking in their seams
as thunder bolts whip
around ice pond windows

But a blanket of peace
surrounds my heart.
Laying down my dukes
yielding to this winter

with seven tiny charcoal Juncoes
bobbing around the dead garden

and inside a vapor
of strong coffee
fire warmth, baked apples
music from Senegal

During my first polarity therapy yesterday,
Jamie dipped her mystical fingers
around in my aura,
a strange erotica of a higher plane

healing me on meridian twirls
with tings and boings,
detangling my energy wrap

Today I cup the charcoal birds
in my hands
bring them to my breast
rub them around like grey ocean stones
I kiss the Senegal singers
I hold the dancers from Kenya

But really? what IS the difference
between here and there
my old salt neighbor asks?
so simple, I say, ’bout 40 degrees

ABOVE:
From SERIES OF 4 PAINTINGS 30″ X 30″ on exhibit now
FLATIRON GALLERY, CONGRESS Street, PORTLAND ME

